D.C., New York and Washington state added to Massachusetts COVID high-risk list for out-of-state travel

Massachusetts added three more regions to its list of high-risk states for COVID-19.

Starting Saturday, people traveling to-and-from the District of Columbia, New York and Washington state will need to quarantine or get tested for coronavirus.

There are 44 states included on the high-risk list as of Saturday.

Gov. Charlie Baker enacted a travel order on August 1 mandating all visitors and residents entering Massachusetts following a high-risk area quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72 hours prior to arrival in Massachusetts.

Visitors are urged to obtain a negative result before traveling to Massachusetts.

Failure to comply with the order could result in a $500 fine per day.

Exemptions are allowed for travelers from lower-risk states, people commuting for work or school and patients seeking specialized medical care.

The current list of lower-risk states includes:

  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Vermont

Massachusetts residents are urged to limit any out-of-state travel only to states designated as COVID-19 lower-risk areas.

Anyone arriving from an international destination must fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and must quarantine for 14 days or meet the 72-hour testing rule.

Source Article